Völkl Deacon 84 Lowride review (2023)

'; }, onSelect: function(e, term, item){e.preventDefault(); window.location = item.data('url'); }});});

  • Gear
  • Skis
  • Völkl
  • Völkl Deacon 84 Lowride


Compare

Category: Piste
Level: Professional
Brand: Völkl
Modelyear: 2023
Measure (Tip/Waist/Tail): 132/84/115 mm Turning radius: 16.90 m (177 cm)
Sizes: 162,167,172,177,182 cm
Manufacturers description

The Deacon 84 skis aswell on icy slopes as on fresh snow, bringing a smile to the face of experienced skiers. The integrated Titanal Frame delivers power and stability, the new LowRide XL binding with GripWalk allows great power transfer due to the extra low stand height. The ski comes with Full Sidewall and a P-Tex 4504 base. The 3D.Ridge construction, Powered by Titanium combined with 3D.Glass also increases the power transfer and higher torsional stiffnes, an improved edge grip and better liveliness. The new 3D radius sidecut technology lifts the carving performance of the ski into another dimension.

The ideal on-piste carver for changing snow conditions.

(Official information from Völkl)

What do you think about Völkl Deacon 84 Lowride?

Write a review

5

4

3

2

1

4.6

16 reviews

Völkl Deacon 84 Lowride review (5)

Juha (Guest)

17/01/2022

Strenghts:
Great ski, tested two years ago. Now I bought 1/22. Very stable ski at high speed. I have two pairs of Stockli and they are very demanding ski but with this Deacon 84 you can just turn off the switch. Just ski and relax. Inexpensive ski, good features.

Weaknesses:
No weakness

Summary:
Stable, enjoyable, great all-mountain ski.

Model year: 2022
Riding style: Piste
Length on the ski: 177 cm
Riders weight: 94 kg
Riders length: 182 cm

Völkl Deacon 84 Lowride review (6)

SDM (Guest)

13/04/2021

Strenghts:
responsive, energetic, smooth, maneuverable and versatile

Weaknesses:
nice graphics but could be a bit more cohesive look

Summary:
demoed a pair and had to have them!

Model year: 2021
Riding style: piste/un-groomed
Length on the ski: 172 cm
Riders weight: 127 kg
Riders length: 176 cm

Völkl Deacon 84 Lowride review (7)

09/11/2022

Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original

Strenghts:
Good on most surfaces. Great edge grip. Works surprisingly well off piste with a few dm of fresh snow.

Weaknesses:
No.

Summary:
Now run more on these than my fatter teams.

Model year: 2022
Riding style: Pist powder
Length on the ski: 179 cm
Riders weight: 89 kg
Riders length: 177 cm

Völkl Deacon 84 Lowride review (8)

Örjan Dahlbäck (Guest)

13/09/2022

Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original

Strenghts:
Very stable ski that is still easy to turn and fun. Also feels safe at higher speeds.

Weaknesses:
If there is a lot of fresh snow, I choose a wider ski

Summary:
A perfect ski for all slopes

Model year: 2022
Riding style: Piste
Length on the ski: 177 cm
Riders weight: 90 kg
Riders length: 185 cm


Völkl Deacon 84 Lowride review (10)

Gunnar (Guest)

20/04/2022

Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original

Strenghts:
Tried both in hard piste and soft sloppy spring snow works perfectly.

Weaknesses:
Difficult to charge energy in the ski in long turns.

Summary:
Fun and easy skiing if you master difficult skiing, the grip is good but not like a real slalom ski of course, difficult to load in giant slalom turns but it is possible. Stable and vibration-free, absolutely wonderful in a wet spring piste. So good skiing a pleasure to ride. Tried both 177 and 182 and felt that 177 suited my riding and weight better.

Riding style: Piste
Length on the ski: 177 cm
Riders weight: 100 kg
Riders length: 184 cm

Völkl Deacon 84 Lowride review (11)

Tomas (Guest)

19/04/2022

Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original

Strenghts:
Allround good

Weaknesses:
Award

Summary:
Excellent ski for Swedish conditions

Model year: 2022
Riding style: Piste / offpist
Length on the ski: 177 cm
Riders weight: 80 kg
Riders length: 182 cm

Völkl Deacon 84 Lowride review (12)

Tobias Koch (Guest)

19/04/2022

Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original

Strenghts:
The ski itself is great. You can also drive and turn with it, especially in deep snow

Weaknesses:
But after about 15 days of skiing, the snow brake broke without any external influence such as a fall. So I thought, okay maybe I did something that I didn't realize. But when the same thing happened again after 8 days of skiing, I was really shocked. I had a lot of limitations because I had to interrupt the ski day to rent skis, otherwise I would lose the skis when they took off.

Summary:
Although the ski is not bad, I still have to give it one star. I want to be able to rely on my skis, especially when they cost over 500 euros. Using inferior quality there and not even having the decency to replace this part in the event of a complaint and also to accuse me of improper treatment, although I just skied with it and didn't even fall down in any way, I find more than weak. It also makes no sense to me to own my own skis if I then have to rent skis for a lot of money every time. That's why I will never buy völkl skis again and I can't recommend them to anyone who wants to be able to rely on their equipment.

Model year: 2020
Riding style: slope/powder
Length on the ski: 189 cm
Riders weight: 85 kg
Riders length: 190 cm



Völkl Deacon 84 Lowride review (15)

10/11/2021

Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original

Strenghts:
Fast, nimble & speed stable. Wonderful on hard - icy ground, very good even on soft and sloppy snow

Weaknesses:
Is no height we deeper snow than 1 dm.

Summary:
Perfect sweden ski! Can do most things with bravura !! Sounds the slightest hint for your feet (boots)
Never loses grip, tested at 90 km / h mm.

(Of course not the same stability as my Vökl Gs 191 cm)


Völkl Deacon 84 Lowride review (17)

Jonas U (Guest)

15/10/2020

Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original

Strenghts:
The performance, the grip, the playfulness, the kick when you push the ski. Speed edge to edge

Weaknesses:
The color and the price, but it is still cheaper than Stöckli (which on the other hand has the most outrageous grip and stiffness I have ridden on).
Does not work very well in the spring slush. Then I want to have a really wide ski. But then it is not possible on the other hand to tok-carva either ...

Summary:
A magically versatile ski when it comes to piste skiing. From the morning manchester to the run-up afternoon. In the afternoons I go and look for "ice" spots to turn on because there I get the wrong grip.
Fun ski that I do not get tired of.

Model year: 2021
Riding style: Love carving but like to fool around off the piste when it dumps
Length on the ski: 177 cm
Riders weight: 96 kg
Riders length: 192 cm

Völkl Deacon 84 Lowride review (18)

18/02/2020

Note! This text has been translated by Google Translate.
Show original

Strenghts:
* Good edge grip (which people should have)
* Very stable and comfortable in softer piste although they require technology / speed.
* Quick turn when active riding.
* Carvar gallantly in easily driven piste

Weaknesses:
- Requires active technology to be fun to ride
- Got to work more clearly to keep the grip in icy and bumpy piste compared to a real piste ski (Völkl racetiger SL), certainly comes from the width and the grinding.

Summary:
Liked them but am pretty sure that 177 cm is far too long / stiff for my size so would have been very fun to test 172 or 167.
Am very curious to see how they would go in some powder and afternoon hump.

Did not test major turns especially much but focused on short turns. But they never felt nervous / whimsical regardless of swing type or speed. However, it is noticeable that it is not a building for mys skiing as they become quite dead and boring without speed / pressure.

A little measure of the other sizes for the interested.
162cm, 13.90 m, 132-84-115 mm
167cm, 14.80 m, 132-84-115 mm
172cm, 15.80 m, 132-84-115 mm
177cm, 16.90m, 132-84-115mm
182cm, 17.90 m, 132-84-115 mm

Model year: 2020
Riding style: Piste and off piste
Length on the ski: 177 cm
Riders weight: 60 kg
Riders length: 170 cm

  • 1
  • 2
  • Next »

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Saturnina Altenwerth DVM

Last Updated: 12/17/2022

Views: 6132

Rating: 4.3 / 5 (64 voted)

Reviews: 87% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Saturnina Altenwerth DVM

Birthday: 1992-08-21

Address: Apt. 237 662 Haag Mills, East Verenaport, MO 57071-5493

Phone: +331850833384

Job: District Real-Estate Architect

Hobby: Skateboarding, Taxidermy, Air sports, Painting, Knife making, Letterboxing, Inline skating

Introduction: My name is Saturnina Altenwerth DVM, I am a witty, perfect, combative, beautiful, determined, fancy, determined person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.