Nexium (Esomeprazole (Injection)) Reviews | Everyday Health (2023)

2 Stars

Posted 40 months ago (11/26/2019) 2

Rated for Gastritis Report

It kept me from getting worse but did noting to relief the symptoms I had. Eventually I had to leave work which males this a bust for me. $20+ and half a days pay. Smaller? Why? An advancement should make something better not smaller & less effective. Wish I checked this out before. Could really of Used the full size.

Report

1 Stars

Posted 49 months ago (2/5/2019) 1

Rated for Irritable bowel syndrome - Diarrhea (IBS-D) Report

I am reviewing Nexium MINIS. I have been taking Nexium capsules 20mg for years, which is VERY effective. My Kroger was out, so I had to buy Minis. My stomach hurt for a solid week and I had severe gas, which I don't get with the regular capsules. After a week, I finally gave up and went to another store to buy the regular capsules. I WILL NEVER BUY THE MINIS AGAIN, it was a total waste of $24 and I can't use the other 5 weeks; they act like nothing but a placebo. I'm very happy with the regular capsules, just not the minis EVER again.

Report

1 Stars

Posted 50 months ago (1/22/2019) 1

Rated for Reflux esophagitis Report

Absolutely horrible, a three year pain in my breast. Definitely not for new?

Report

4 Stars

Posted 50 months ago (1/3/2019) 4

Rated for Gastritis Report

I have taken Nexium off and on for many years at a low dosage (20 mg) due to a range of GI issues including gastritis. I have found that it is fast acting and has really relieved my symptoms.

Report

1 Stars

Posted 51 months ago (12/14/2018) 1

Rated for Gastritis Report

Gave me horrible diareah after couple years!!!

Report

1 Stars

Posted 55 months ago (8/12/2018) 1

Rated for Gastritis Report

Stay away from this drug it will deplete all your b12 calcium magnesium potassium vitamins and minerals. Which are your body’s lifeline. I ended up in the hospital with an irregular heartbeat was admitted for 3 days no one knew what caused it until I did a blood serum test that revealed what damage nexium had done in 3 months of taking it. I Prayed and started taking all the vitamins and minerals I needed. And Thank You Jesus that I’m better every day. God is Good.

Report

5 Stars

Posted 56 months ago (7/25/2018) 5

Rated for Gastritis Report

I have excessive gastric acid upon eating stimulating food like spices and proteins. That can cause either diarrhea or constipation. For the latter, I have resorted to Nexium on several occasions (such as right now on the toilet) and it provides relief in as little as 5-10 minutes. Also I find it helpful to take it right before bed, so that I can wake up feeling relieved in my stomach.

Report

(Video) Esomeprazole (Nexium, Strontium) - Uses, Side Effects and Dosage

5 Stars

Posted 58 months ago (5/4/2018) 5

Rated for Gastric Ulcer Report

The very first day I try nexium it work, I’m on the 14days trial , so far so good no complaints

Report

0 Stars

Posted 76 months ago (11/8/2016) 0

Rated for Crohn's Disease -- Maintenance Report

This kind of game gives a real experience of building a gabggdbbdced

Report

5 Stars

Posted 83 months ago (4/27/2016) 5

Rated for Peptic Ulcer Report

I took nexium for two weeks and I noticed a difference the first 4-5 days. I experienced heartburn quite a but at nighttime and while taking this product I did not get it. So I was able to eat all my favorite spicy foods and not experience heartburn afterwards I was very pleased with this product and will definitely buy it again.!

Report

4 Stars

Posted 84 months ago (3/18/2016) 4

Rated for Pyrosis (heartburn) Report

I am nearing the end of my second trimester of pregnancy. Nexium is the only thing that has worked. If you've ever been pregnant heart burn can be intense. Thanks Nexium!

Report

2 Stars

Posted 87 months ago (12/22/2015) 2

Rated for Erosive Esophagitis Report

I have used it for 2 years and it does help the gastritis and reflux but side effects are uncomfortable. I have tinnitus about 30 minutes after taking and several diarrhea attacks after taking. My Dr. Insists I stay on it but would like to try a different drug.

Report

5 Stars

Posted 91 months ago (8/6/2015) 5

Rated for Pyrosis (heartburn) Report

I have now been on Nexium for 13 days thanks to getting a free sample from Smily360 and I have to say I am nothing but happy with this medication. I have had so many problems with acid reflux and heartburn in the past but Nexium helps to keep it at bay. Within 4 days I could feel the difference and now it's very obvious. I'm able to enjoy pizza and even spicy food again though I still have to eat small portions. The only side affect I have had is constipation once in a while but it isn't horribly bad. I plan on purchasing more very soon and continuing my use of Nexium.

Report

5 Stars

Posted 91 months ago (8/6/2015) 5

Rated for Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease Report

Finally a product that works! I began taking this product while pregnant with my third child I began taking this product while pregnant with my third child. I developed terrible heartburn early in the pregnancy and nothing I tried worked. I began taking nexium in my third trimester and my heart burn disappeared. It was easy to take, only one pill a day. There were no side effects. Highly recommend this product. I received this product free from Smiley360.

Report

(Video) 3 Deadly Nexium Mistakes

5 Stars

Posted 94 months ago (5/10/2015) 5

Rated for Reflux esophagitis Report

I've taken 40mg for about 4 years now. I had bad reflux about 80% of the time, Nexium has reduce my reflux to almost 90% it was a god send. I read some of the story's about how much people have to pay for it, I'm lucky in Australia I pay only $6AU for a months supply and I don't have any health insurance.

Report

5 Stars

Posted 109 months ago (2/14/2014) 5

Rated for Reflux esophagitis Report

NEXIUM 40 MG TAKEN THIS OVER 20 YRS, DRUG IS EXPENSIVE BUT IT HELPS ME & Can't skip pill or get sick

Report

5 Stars

Posted 112 months ago (11/8/2013) 5

Rated for Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease Report

I messed up the first post. When I have a bad flare up I take 2 pills 40mg each / for 2-5 days or longer depending on how bad the flare is one in morning / one in afternoon. Every 7 to 8 hrs also regular applesauce helps or if u can eat an apple sometimes milk or dairy sometimes I drink decafe coffee everyday but then I have to lay off of it for awhile to or a soda once in awhile it just depends and don't eat anything spicy unless u eat some bread first that works sometimes and if I let my stomach get too empty that also causes it to flare small frequent meals is the key if u eat too much u pay for it also another good one is acidphex and u can take other antiacids with nexium but ask the Dr first I can take pepcid ac in between the nexium or tums but they dont work anymore for me the tums but pepcid ac regular does oh and don't chew gum if u do it makes it worse esp on an empty stomach hope this helps someone and try not to smoke esp when u have a bad flare it helps

Report

5 Stars

Posted 112 months ago (11/8/2013) 5

Rated for Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease Report

It took about a month or so to work I actually went off of it and tried something else but couldn't afford it so went back on the nexium when I have a bad flare up I take it anywhere from 2-5 days sometimes longer and I take the 40mg so when I do take 2 a day I take it every 8hrs or 7 if I can't wait the nurse told me 12 hrs but Dr said /like take one in the morning like say 8am then another at 4pm it has saved my life u have to watch what u eat still and dont lay flat drink plenty of water and it does work better if u take it in the morning an hour before u eat the pharmacist told me that Dr said it really don't matter but I tend to disagree a little they do have a program from nexium u can save some money even with my insurance it worked not a lot but for the 1st fill it was not much then the second a little more u can print it online coupon or the pharmacy did mine for me I had the Dr check my magnisum since I been on it for a few yrs and it was fine been on it since 2010

Report

5 Stars

Posted 112 months ago (11/8/2013) 5

Rated for Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease Report

It took about a month or so to work I actually went off of it and tried something else but couldn't afford it so went back on the nexium when I have a bad flare up I take it anywhere from 2-5 days sometimes longer and I take the 40mg so when I do take 2 a day I take it every 8hrs or 7 if I can't wait the nurse told me 12 hrs but Dr said /like take one in the morning like say 8am then another at 4pm it has saved my life u have to watch what u eat still and dont lay flat drink plenty of water and it does work better if u take it in the morning an hour before u eat the pharmacist told me that Dr said it really don't matter but I tend to disagree a little they do have a program from nexium u can save some money even with my insurance it worked not a lot but for the 1st fill it was not much then the second a little more u can print it online coupon or the pharmacy did mine for me I had the Dr check my magnisum since I been on it for a few yrs and it was fine been on it since 2010

Report

5 Stars

Posted 112 months ago (11/8/2013) 5

Rated for Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease Report

It took about a month or so to work I actually went off of it and tried something else but couldn't afford it so went back on the nexium when I have a bad flare up I take it anywhere from 2-5 days sometimes longer and I take the 40mg so when I do take 2 a day I take it every 8hrs or 7 if I can't wait the nurse told me 12 hrs but Dr said /like take one in the morning like say 8am then another at 4pm it has saved my life u have to watch what u eat still and dont lay flat drink plenty of water and it does work better if u take it in the morning an hour before u eat the pharmacist told me that Dr said it really don't matter but I tend to disagree a little they do have a program from nexium u can save some money even with my insurance it worked not a lot but for the 1st fill it was not much then the second a little more u can print it online coupon or the pharmacy did mine for me I had the Dr check my magnisum since I been on it for a few yrs and it was fine been on it since 2010

Report

1 Stars

Posted 122 months ago (1/24/2013) 1

Rated for Helicobacter pylori Infection Report

still have a distended stomach, on arising each day...as the day progesses, after taking nexium, before breakfast, it seems to subside....

Report

(Video) Esomeprazole ( Nexium ): What is Nexium Used For, Dosage, Side Effects & Precautions ?

5 Stars

Posted 138 months ago (9/1/2011) 5

Rated for Gastritis Report

Nexium started easing my symptoms of gastritis almost immediately. As long as im on it, i dont feel sick or in pain like i did before it. This treatment is by far one of the best out there.

Report

5 Stars

Posted 149 months ago (10/16/2010) 5

Rated for Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease Report

I have tried other preventive medications for my GERD, but they didn't help nearly as much or as well as my 'little purple pill.' Nexium, when taken daily, keeps the heartburn away, the reflux no longer happens and I find I can eat now without worry. I've been taking this for nearly 10 years now and have seen no side effects. I do know that if I miss a pill I will have a bout of reflux, so for me it works wonders. As will all medication though, each person's system responds differently so if you are still having problems with GERD after taking it for a few weeks, I'd contact my doctor.

Report

5 Stars

Posted 150 months ago (9/14/2010) 5

Rated for Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease Report

I have been on this medication for over 12 yearsand my dosage is 40 mgsonce daily in the a.m. I feel very strongly that it has helped me with my acid reflux. I very seldom have the acid in my throat. I gave up drinking coffee and have tea once in a while. I could not beleive giving up a lot of the caffeine in coffee and pop that I have felt better. I would recomend this medication to someone because I know how I felt before starting the medication. On my way to work I would have to pull over and bring up the acid on the shoulder of the road. It is an expensive pill but it is worth every cent.

Report

4.5 Stars

Posted 151 months ago (8/15/2010) 4

Rated for Helicobacter pylori Infection Report

It seemed to make my sliding ulcer near stomach opening of new pouch feel better.

Report

5 Stars

Posted 152 months ago (7/2/2010) 5

Rated for Erosive Esophagitis Report

40 mg once daily then had to use twice daily in worst cases. took a few weeks to notice any changes, i had erosive esophagitis grade B and gastritis, but most importantly - medicines are not miracle drugs by any means, you have to put in effort as well, in my case, no eating after 7/8pm, stay away from obvious danger foods, and eat smaller portions. I think what helped me the most was lowering carbs. With nexium already cutting back acid production, taht means food willl take more work to break down, so if you eat a bunch of heavy/heard to digest foods then you will be asking for acid reflux even more. Nothing is a quick fix, so give nexium time, and youll get the wanted results :)

Report

2.5 Stars

Posted 162 months ago (9/23/2009) 2

Rated for Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease Report

I find that Nexium 40 mg really does not work better than 20 mg of Prilosec OTC or prescription generic Prilosec (Omeprazole) The only difference I noticed was that Nexium releif of reflux last a few hours longer. But I think Nexium has more side effects (nausea bloating cramping) I would recommend talking to your Dr. about taking prescription generic Prilosec 20 mg twice a day 12 hrs apart for full 24 hour coverage...Most likely your insurance will cover this and it works better in my opinion then the 40 mg one daily dose of Nexium in one morning

Report

2.5 Stars

Posted 164 months ago (7/16/2009) 2

Rated for Gastric Ulcer Report

I started Nexium three months ago. The first week, I had no symptoms at all. Then about a month later, the symptoms came back. It started to stabilize again after the second month. But then I noticed that my periferal vision in my left eye started to fade. Then one day the vision in my left eye was almost gone. It lasted 2-3 hours. Then it came back the next day, vision was bad (cloudiness, blank spots, bright flashing lights). I now have hemorrages in my retina and have blank spots and vision loss. The doctors put me on two baby aspirin a day to decrease the blockage from veins in my left eye, so they told me to double up on Nexium to counter-act the aspirin (i have a stomach ulcer). I now have heart palpitations and I get hot flashes and a rush of blood to the head all the time. When i lay down, I feel like my heart is beating so hard that it almost seems like someone is punching me through the bed.

Report

(Video) Doctor explains how to take OMEPRAZOLE (Losec/Prilosec), including uses, doses, side effects & more!

5 Stars

Posted 171 months ago (12/20/2008) 5

Rated for Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease Report

nexium is perfect...however very expensive, and most insurance companied will not cover cost of the med.

Report

3.5 Stars

Posted 176 months ago (7/3/2008) 3

Rated for Erosive Esophagitis Report

Works Great! I am no longer throwing up every morning noon and night! I can even eat whatever I choose. No more pain and bleeding. Marsha

Report

4 Stars

Posted 180 months ago (3/13/2008) 4

Rated for Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease Report

I have had good results in eliminating heartburn and symptoms realted to Gerd, with this product. My concern is that I have been on this drug for years and it does not appear to have healed or cured any symptom. If I miss a dose, I experience medium to severe heartburn and acid reflux. I am also concerned as to what dependency the prolonged useage may be causing to the acid inhibition in my stomach and what other conditions may arise from this.

Report

5 Stars

Posted 184 months ago (11/12/2007) 5

Rated for Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease Report

I have been using this medicine for months and have found it to be totally effective. I take one doze every other day which totally controls my reflux. I do not experience any side effects.

Report

5 Stars

Posted 185 months ago (10/29/2007) 5

Rated for Peptic Ulcer Report

I'm a soldier in the U.S. Army. That for one, explains why I have no out-of-pocket costs. I was diagnosed with a peptic ulcer almost 2 years ago. In the military, this really hindered my performance. Peers would look at me, (a SGT) and be like, if my SGT won't do it, I'm not gonna do it! It's not that I wouldn't do what was asked of me, I COULDN'T do it! I was prescribed, ozemprazole, Ranitidine, and Chlormycythorin (sp?) but none of these worked for me. I kept getting worse, and worse. It was on Oct. 13th 2007 when I went to the emergency room to see if they had another alternative. The Captain who saw me prescribed Nexium. WOW!!!! I'm going on 16 days and this stuff is AMAZING!

Report

5 Stars

Posted 186 months ago (9/27/2007) 5

Rated for Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease Report

i love nexium. my insurance is good though. i only have to pay a 5 dollar monthly charge. if i did'nt have insurance i would use prilosec otc instead. when i am late on refilling my presciption prilosec works almost as good.

Report

5 Stars

Posted 189 months ago (6/20/2007) 5

Rated for Laryngopharyngeal reflux disease Report

I was having a lot of difficulty and they told me to take 2 Nexium a day, so I started with 2 after my visit and it really helped. I then received a letter from my part D saying it would not cover it! What are we supposed to do suffer when we have tried others and they haven't worked? The insurance companies need to get a grip on what is going on in people's lives and their illnesses!

Report

(Video) What is ESOMEPRAZOLE (Nexium) for?, How does esomeprazole work?, When to take esomeprazole?

1 of 4
Next

Videos

1. How to Heal a Stomach Ulcer Fast (How to Fix a Stomach Ulcer)
(Rhoades24eva)
2. How to Stop Acid Reflux Immediately - Gerd, Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease
(WaysAndHow)
3. Esomeprazole or Nexium Medication Information (dosing, side effects, patient counseling)
(RxLearn)
4. Heartburn, Acid Reflux, GERD-Mayo Clinic
(Mayo Clinic)
5. If You Take Prilosec, Watch This NOW!
(Stansberry Research)
6. Esomeprazole is a Medication that is Used to Treat a Number of Conditions
(RxWikiTV)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Wyatt Volkman LLD

Last Updated: 04/14/2023

Views: 6066

Rating: 4.6 / 5 (66 voted)

Reviews: 89% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Wyatt Volkman LLD

Birthday: 1992-02-16

Address: Suite 851 78549 Lubowitz Well, Wardside, TX 98080-8615

Phone: +67618977178100

Job: Manufacturing Director

Hobby: Running, Mountaineering, Inline skating, Writing, Baton twirling, Computer programming, Stone skipping

Introduction: My name is Wyatt Volkman LLD, I am a handsome, rich, comfortable, lively, zealous, graceful, gifted person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.